Hugability

My sister is annoyed by my constant cheerfulness

But happiness keeps me alive.

Some stare as I skip my way through life

Many more admire my happiness.

Some think they have to hide behind who they are

or who they want to be

to be liked

I am what I am–and I’m loved for it

I am in love with life

I love the life I’m leading

You should too

Maybe you don’t love life

Maybe you can’t bear it

That’s O.K. no life is perfect–

But no life is void of happiness.

Pick one thing that makes you happy

Let it help you fall in love with the life you lead.

Don’t be afraid to hug.

Don’t be afraid to love.

Let the people you love know that you love them.

Don’t be afraid to be happy.

Don’t be afraid to take risks.

Let the things that annoy you roll off like water off a duck’s back.

Don’t choose regret.

Fall in love with the life you lead–

It’s the only one you get.

5 Comments

Filed under Free Verse

5 responses to “Hugability

  1. Never stop skipping …
    … or poeming!

    Well written. Well lived.

  2. “My sister is annoyed by my constant cheerfulness”

    This line deserves explanation!

    • If you have an older sister, you will know that they are annoyed by everything you do 😉 My sister is my complete opposite–kinda shy, pretty quiet, embarrassed to be loud… when you are the exact opposite, there is no way to please.

  3. nice advice and a good way to start the New Year!

Leave a Reply

