Invincable Winter

inside me there is and unending winter

a winter that just begun

the last ray of sunshine I had been holding onto

has just eternally slipped behind

the ominous grey clouds of winter

a winter that, now, will never end

a crushed soul

a hope long gone

no fire able to heat this

empty heart

no love in a home

that has never been a home

only the weight of the world

and my father’s angry hands

on my back

and the last hope I had

shrouded out all the summer

all the sunshine within me

now

is

gone

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Verse, Memoir

Leave a Reply

