Don’t tell me where my heart is

The bitter winter snow looks so beautiful from here

where I don’t have to touch it

where I don’t need to be in it

gently, but rapidly blanketing the ground

it reminds me of when I was very small

buried under a mountain of white comforters

beautifully

one flake at a time

it lovingly caresses the ground

softly

gently

but I know for you the snow is bitter

hateful

ugly

because warm within my room

I can watch it as an innocent bystander

but you

this is your home

this blanket is the one that shrouds you

the only comfort you have

not warm

but

cold

cold

cold

within your home you stand

watching the snow bleed from the clouds

smothering the earth in it’s cold, clammy hands

and you curse the snow

as you sit in your home

the snow took you in

2 Comments

Filed under Free Verse

2 responses to “Don’t tell me where my heart is

  1. moving words…
    well penned.

    A+

  2. where is everyone else?

    such lovely poem shall be shared and read by more poets.

    come on in if you can….

    A++
    šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

