What have I done?

I bled tears as I stood above your body

How could I have been so cruel?

My sin that was such a heavy hammer

that pierced your skin with those ugly, ugly nails

How can I even begin to apologize?

“I’m sorry” just doesn’t quite seem appropriate

I don’t even have the words–

Did I really hate you this much?

The blood that I’m crying is such a small amount

compared to the blood that you bleed

Enough blood to wash an entire world

a worldful of sin

And even though my words seem so small,

I’m sorry, Lord

What have I done?

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Verse

Leave a Reply

