I thank God for you

The hardest day of my life

was the day the police came

and they bore you away

I didn’t know if I’d ever see you again

It was such a surprise

such a joy

when I saw you the next day

and now I thank God every day that I wake up

and you are still there

I don’t sound grateful all the time

but I am

I don’t want you to go away

even though I know it seems like the easiest way for you

I cried so much that day

and all that night

and I didn’t want anyone to see me cry

because I know that you hurt more than I did that day

I just want you to know

that I am thankful for your life

and I love you

and I am so sorry for everything I’ve ever done to you

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Verse

Leave a Reply

