Pride

I strut around, subconsciously knowing that I am better than everyone

Thinking, somehow, that my life is more important than the ones around me

Believing that I am smarter, more wise, more knowing, more well-versed

than those around me who are not stupid

and certainly not any less than I am

Every other sin stems from Pride, the root

and I discriminate because of my pride

I look down on others

I think I am super-human

In reality, I am a fool

A fool whose life is worthless

because of Pride

and never will my apologies be complete

should I ever think that they are, Lord,

silence my Pride

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Verse

Leave a Reply

