The Curtains

They reach from ceiling to floor

romantic and red

just like in the movies

billowing and swaying gently

as my mind surfaces from a dream

and this is what I stare at

these beautiful, rich,

pieces of cloth

that you bought for me

that you put over the windows to our room

to make everything a little more

romantic.

Amazingly,

they made everything we did together

seem more tender, passionate.

I reach over to stroke your head

and hope to share this memory with you

but feel instead a cold pillow

where I have only hoped your head would be

for a longer time than I care to forget.

I turn away from the rustling reminder of you

and sway into a romantic, rich, red,

flood of emotion

14 Comments

Filed under Free Verse

14 responses to “The Curtains

  1. Smooth, romantic, and revealing from top to bottom. It leaves me wanting to know more, though. And that’s good.

  2. This is a luscious poem. The curtains, their colour and movement, fill the senses.

  3. I turn away from the rustling reminder of you

    and sway into a romantic, rich, red,

    flood of emotion………..

    you write real poetry, very beautiful sadness, love the lines.
    cheers.
    🙂

  4. Lovely. I see the curtains as red velvet 😉

  5. hmm painful reminders 😦 how sad!
    enjoy the rally!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/

  6. ALIVE aLwaYs

    Delusion-ed by longing and besieged by feelings, emotions are bound to flow. Nice touch!

  7. Thanks for the award acceptance,

    enjoy the rally.

    🙂

  8. “I turn away from the rustling reminder of you
    and sway into a romantic, rich, red,
    flood of emotion”…this almost had me in tears!

    I can see why you won the award. Simply beautiful sadness.

    Congratulations!

  9. Romantic and tragic, beautiful

Leave a Reply

