Filled not with rejoicing

I curl up in my bed

to unlearn these things in my head

things filled with dread

that have left me for dead

As the heartless world rejoices

I try so hard to forget

things that have made me so upset

and the men that do abet

try too hard to change my mind-set

While we, none of us, rejoices

I weep and I cry

I keep asking myself why

I no longer want to try

just leave me here to die

As I hate you, who rejoices

In my lonely isolation

I, concealed in desperation,

called my heart to abdication

of my pitiful recitation

of memories filled not with rejoicing

Now I cry to you in anger

And try to hide my inner clangor

My heart has left it’s hanger

remain with me, here, no longer

As refrain I, from rejoicing

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Verse, Memoir

Leave a Reply

