See-Through

What I need?

A drink.

What I receive?

A pat on the back and hopes for better days.

Collapsed in a pathetic heap

on the deteriorating love seat

I crumble

I waste away

me and the love seat

together we fall apart

slain beings

lost in the heat of battle

another mindless victim of the brutal killing

only another uniform

never another face

we won’t be remembered

we are irremarkable

not even supposed to be here

no one noticed when we were here

no one will notice when we are gone

See why I need a drink?

I need something to help me

disintegrate.

2 Comments

Filed under Free Verse

2 responses to “See-Through

  1. Needs a good title. How about See-through or Invisible Losses?

Leave a Reply

