Why do you like me?

I’ve been treading lightly

hoping not to disturb

the slightest detail

I so want for you to like me

and things have been going so well

but I talk a lot

and often, I say nothing

and people tend not to like me

I think I talk too much

if I could just learn to keep my mouth shut

then maybe people would like me

Oh and look!

shhh

I’m doing it again

talking

saying

useless phrases

that mean

nothing

that say

nothing

Why do you like me?

You don’t, do you?

They say that if I just act natural

just be myself

I’ll be liked

but it’s not true

they don’t like me

you do

the secret maybe isn’t in the self

it’s in the silence

7 Comments

Filed under Free Verse

7 responses to “Why do you like me?

  1. You and I are very different in most respects (I’m assuming), yet I know exactly what you are saying in this poem. I like the way you structured it, too; it flows well, rolling smoothly aong. Wonderful writing!

  2. Thank you!
    The flow is very important to me… I’m so glad you liked it!

  3. I definitely feel this one. Dang! Great poem.

  4. PS, I love how your banner changes.

  5. I think you should talk more. And write. The flow of this one carries the soul.

Leave a Reply

