Secrets that Didn’t want to Keep themselves

So many things new
I can not tell you
because they’ve so hurt me

I want you to know
I can’t seem to let go
of these things inside me

These secrets I don’t want to keep
Into you’re thoughts they creep
driving you away from me

Try to understand
these things against my command
are staying within me

Oh, please don’t go
I want you to know
but how do you tell
that you’ve just been through hell
To someone who can’t help you now?

I know that you love me
You said that you love me
Do you still love me
even though I can’t tell you why or how?

It angers you that you can’t help
Oh, I want you to help
but I can’t just let go
I can’t let you know
Why or How
it hurts

20 Comments

Filed under Free Verse, Rhyming Couplet

20 responses to “Secrets that Didn’t want to Keep themselves

  1. comprehensive one,

    love is learning and understanding.
    bless you.

    Happy Poetry Picnic.

  2. Lovely poem. Says so much that others must want to say also….eloquent I think is the word I’m searching for.
    Thank you very much for sharing such intimate and painful feelings.
    Not being able to let go…I can definitely relate to that.
    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  3. it’s difficult to have feelings you can’t control!

  4. careful and caring thoughts.

    very creatively said.
    🙂

  5. sarahjaneprosetry

    Yes. Totally.

  6. This reminds me of a very painful break-up. These are the thoughts which were running through my head, the whole time. I feel this, I really do.

  7. This one speaks through the cracks and scars of my heart

  8. I lived in that inner secret place for many years – but something changed… when I started to let myself write, everything changed.

  9. I can’t let you know
    Why or How
    it hurts

    The difficulties inherent with communication in relationships are summed up well in your poem.

  10. Chimnese

    Its extremely difficult to control and to compensate that feelings mixed with so many things u try to control the outcome yet you left with nothing but holding onto the secrets.

  11. so creative and such loving and caring thoughts enjoy your site and reading your entries
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/18/mirror-of-truth/

  12. This is really beautiful… and really sad. I’ve definitely been there before. Great poem.

  13. This brought tears to my eyes, that pain is all too familiar to me…

  14. As soon as I read the title, I knew you were someone who knew. I was not disappointed. Greetings to you know that my soul recognizes you!

  15. shail

    This touches a chord. Beautifully expressed!

Leave a Reply

