Oh, How I’ve Tried

I was so proud of myself
I was moving on
getting past
my utter hatred of you
that was keeping me from movement
from social interaction
from life outside
of you

Oh
how I’ve tried to move past
move on
get over
you

I had finally seemed to become
myself once again

Oh
how I’ve tried to move past
move on
get over
you

and–just for a moment
I saw you
and ruined all
that I have so recently rebuilt

Oh
how I’ve tried to move past
move on
get over
you

damn you
you ruin-er of lives

Oh
how I’ve tried to move past
move on
get over
you

Did you know that
I never told anyone
that I hated them
before you
?

Oh
how I’ve tried to move past
move on
get over
you

and you brought back all those feelings
just that instant of seeing you
hearing your voice
as you greeted your brother
(if only he weren’t my student)
for only a moment
made me wretch
made me cry
made me run with all my might
far, far away
from all I have accomplished

Oh
how I’ve tried to move past
move on
get over
you

and to think
how much I used to love you
how happy you once made me

Oh
how I’ve tried to move past
move on
get over
you

2 Comments

Filed under Free Verse, Letter

2 responses to “Oh, How I’ve Tried

  1. The consistency in your words really helps hammer home the message here.

    http://alexdissing.blogspot.com/

  2. So painfully beautiful….

Leave a Reply

