Becoming

And it hurts
oh how I’ve broken
I know what I did to you
But what you did in retaliation
You didn’t do
To only you
I know that we are only friends
I was the one to set that rule
But that doesn’t mean you’re free
to ruin
your own soul
It hurts me so much
to see my friend
killing himself
from the inside out
you’re getting lost
and soon–
You’ll go past
the point
Where you can’t be found
I know we’re only friends
I was the one to set that rule
But it still destroys my heart
when I see you
hurting so
Hurting so much
I want to help you let me help you
even though I hurt you so
I can help you let me help you
recover
bring you back
You’re not the man you used to be
Not really anyone at all
I want to give you back your identity
Please let me help you
When you fall
You don’t want this
I know you don’t
you’re just hurting
and want something to numb
the pain
And I know that you’re still so sore
but please
Oh please

3 Comments

Filed under Free Verse, Letter

3 responses to “Becoming

  1. Sometimes when reading your poems, it feels like you’re writing directly to me. Some bits of living are fully universal.

  2. This is wonderfully written, therapeutic piece! πŸ™‚ Friendship can be both beautiful and sometimes very difficult to deal with when feelings of romantic thoughts are involved toward the other. You’ve captured that moment really well! Cheers! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

