Purple Cake

I made a purple cake today

it’s been a while since I’ve baked

I made a purple cake today

because I couldn’t stand all the red

Cloves and cinnamon

hold the nuts

pile it high with frosting

that’s the only reason I’m eating it, anyway

I made it purple because that’s who I’d like to be

I’m tired of all these reds and browns

purple is the wannabe me

but it stained my hands

and mingled with the bruises

matching my inside

with my out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Verse

Leave a Reply

