On Longing

Every day brings me closer

to the day that will change my life

I can’t wait

and yet

I want to hold on forever

I don’t want to miss this feeling

but I need to be done with it soon

More than anything, though,

I crave to meet you

Nine months seems cruel

too long a time to wait for me

just to see your pretty faces

and hold you in my arms

even if you’ll just be taken again

I want for you to be happy

and I want for them to be happy

and I just can’t wait

the day is coming

that will change my life

and better yours

forever

4 Comments

Filed under Free Verse

4 responses to “On Longing

  1. A beautiful portrayal of longing. Thank you for following my blog.

  2. Lovely piece. Well done.

    Have a great week ahead. 🙂

  3. A brave, strong, and positive attitude. And this poem expresses turbulent, difficult feelings well.

Leave a Reply

