On Love

I reached out to you

and felt you pleasantly reach back

I didn’t ask for commitment

but it’s nice to know

you’ve got my back.

.

I didn’t ask you for your heart

or even really give you mine

but it’s nice to know we’re buddies

and we’re good

where we are

.

I don’t really need romance

and I’m not even sure that’s what I want

but I want somebody like you

to make me smile

when I’m down

.

You make me happier than I can say

I don’t need more than that

and it’s ok that we’re not in love

we both know

life doesn’t work so matte

.

You’re a boy and I’m a girl

doesn’t mean we can’t be friends

but I think our love is stronger

than those around us

so in love

.

Sometimes I don’t really like you

sometimes I know you don’t like me

but I could never wish bad upon you

and that’s how I know

this love is free

.

this love is good

this love is fair

This love is freeing.

this love is fair

this love is good

this love is fun.

this love is you

this love is me

this love is us and altogether;

stray from your side I could never,

please always stay close to me

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Verse, Letter

Leave a Reply

