On Age

This was supposed to be

a great time for you and me

a time for bonding and love

a time to reflect on what we got from above

a time to solidify that which we built

a time of intimacy, a time of no guilt

.

But you pulled away from me

I am the last person that you want to see

we had such a beautiful friendship

now, on your screen, I am an unpleasant blip

.

What happened to make you hate me so?

Without you, I’ve hit an all-time low

Please help me solve this pain inside

This is a pain I cannot abide

.

.

I’m finding it so hard to forgive

this new way in which you’ve chosen to live

.

But I–

.

I will forgive you

This is the way I’ve chosen to live for you

Trust you again,

I never will

But I will forgive you

even against my will

.

Chances will come ample to you

I hope, in time, you’ll forgive me, too

Leave a comment

Filed under Rhyming Couplet

Leave a Reply

