On Peace

I close my eyes

and try to just breathe

but it’s hard not to think of anything

My mind is everywhere

on everything.

Soccer practice

family

church picnic

My toes really hurt

and I can’t really just say that I am praying

Because I’m planning for the next day

and taking no time

for you

for me

for us

 

The thoughts drip away

as easily as silk,

they fall to the ground.

 

This moment is what I’ve wanted

Crisp and isolated

beautiful and serene

only you

and only me

forgive me, please

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Verse

Leave a Reply

