On Justice

I hear their voices ringing in my head:

a loud and taunting sound that breaks my heart;

I wish ill upon all who are present,

Playing scenes of their demise in my mind.

I will them all to know and feel my pain;

‘Sticks and Stones’ just a child’s rhyme I knew.

Striving for strength, I weep in my weakness;

My fragile heart tearing within my chest.

A holy gavel–never mine to hold

strikes my sentence–innocent victim: me.

I mourn within my mind and back away

whilst silently, I turn the other cheek

Leave a comment

Filed under Blank Verse

Leave a Reply

