On Nervousness

Rushing faster than a nervous heartbeat,

Hark I the gentle, ever-present sound!

Breathing in the background without warning

And bleeding into spirit all around.

Calmly now, you can hear it beckoning

Careful as a playful, mid-April breeze.

Nervous charm is strong and quickly growing

Causing my heart, and all I am, to freeze.

I want to hear her loudly call my name,

A musical voice I can count my own,

To sing a flood around; my heart to tame

Within organic cage of flesh and bone.

Seeing her causes all I am to seize

All that I can utter: a silent ‘please.’

Leave a comment

Filed under Sonnett

Leave a Reply

