Hello, Mr. Sunshine

Hello Mr. Sunshine

Thanks for making my day

smiling brightly and waking up

just to say ‘hey’

 

Hello Mr. Sunshine

it’s been a while

did you know I slept while you were gone

just to make it through the hours?

 

Hello Mr. Sunshine

I get to greet you again

joy shining through my window

in this land so bland

 

Hello Mr. Sunshine

I do hope this doesn’t sound rude,

but please don’t leave me alone again

I don’t care how much it helps you

 

I know you’re millions of miles away

I know you’d hurt me if you were here

please smile at me even so

give me something to live for

 

Hello Mr. Sunshine

Thank you so much

never leave my sight

Always bring me light

Leave a comment

Filed under Chant, Free Verse, Rhyming Couplet

Leave a Reply

